Many County buildings are currently closed to the public. Please visit our Online services page for resources and building information.

You are here: Home > Maintenance > Sewer Maintenance Services

Sewer Maintenance Services

Beachwood Bedford Bedford Heights Berea Brecksville Broadview Heights Brooklyn Brooklyn Heights East Cleveland Fairview Park Garfield Heights Gates Mills Highland Heights Highland Hills Linndale Lyndhurst Maple Heights Mayfield Heights Mayfield Village Middleburg Heights Oakwood Village Cleveland Heights Newburgh Heights North Randall Olmsted Falls Olmsted Township Orange Parma Parma Heights Pepper Pike Richmond Heights Rocky River Seven Hills Shaker Heights Solon South Euclid Walton Hills Warrensville Heights Woodmere

Full and partially serviced areas are shaded in grey. Click on the city to view available services, service maps or annual reports.

Communities in Cuyahoga County

Sewer Maintenance Services

The Sewer Maintenance Division of The Cuyahoga Department of Public Works, formerly the Sanitary Engineering Division, was established in 1919 and now operates under the County Executive to administer authority in matters of wastewater, storm water, and water supply management.
The Division has considerable experience in the maintenance of sanitary and storm sewer lines, and is often a major source of information and guidance that mayors, municipal engineers and service directors rely on when making infrastructure decisions within their community.  Currently, this operation encompasses over 30 communities and maintains nearly 1,060 miles of sanitary sewers, treats approximately 147 million gallons of wastewater per year and operates 45 sewage-pumping stations, as well as 3 wastewater treatment plants throughout Cuyahoga County.  The Division also has agreements with municipal corporations for the establishment, operation, and maintenance of sanitary sewers and facilities.  In addition, standards for any system connected to or served by a County-owned improvement are established and enforced. 
The Department of Public Works is in cooperation with the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (Ohio EPA), the Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District (NEORSD), the City of Cleveland Division of Water, and the Cuyahoga County Board of Health.  A Capital Improvement Program is also managed for upgrading or replacing the existing infrastructure and for expanding sewers to unsewered areas.


  • Reduce the number of flooded basements by decreasing mainline blockage, minimize the infiltration and inflow of storm water in the sanitary system, and evaluate structural integrity of the entire sewer system;
  • Operate wastewater treatment plants in compliance of National Pollution Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit parameters;
  • Provide guidelines for new construction through use of Uniform Standards for Sewerage Improvements;
  • Review and Approve new improvement plans; and
  • Provide infrastructure needs assessment for communities.

Customer Service


 Contact Information
 Emergency Sewer Services  (216) 443-8201
 Assessment and Wastewater Treatment Billing  (216) 443-8242
 Permits & Inspection  (216) 443-8209
 Fax  (216) 443-8220